Docker with VSTS Self Hosted Build Agent

First off, thank you for any help and I am very new to Docker and just trying to get something to work, so I can move forward.

Expected behavior

I want to be able to use the VSTS Built in tasks for Building and Pushing a Linux Docker Image (I do not need to host any images, just build and push to host).

Actual behavior

After much searching and multiple attempts at other options, I installed Docker Desktop for Windows and setup Hyper-V and the tasks started to work, but only when someone was logged into the server because Docker Desktop does not run when a user is not logged in. I feel like this is not the correct way to handle things and I am looking for the best solution.

Information

• Windows Server 2016
  • Visual Studio 2017

Does anyone know how to setup a self hosted Agent that will allow me to Build and Push Docker Images.

You can try to use experimental LCOW option to run UNIX containers on windows instead of using Docker Desktop.

I am not sure I understand how having “Linux Containers on Windows” (LCOW) to run a container instead of Docker Desktop will help me build and push Docker Images. Can you explain how this would assist me some more? Do I use a different Docker Installation for the Build and Push? If so do I even need LCOW, since I won’t be running any containers?

LCOW can be run in unattanded mode under any user, while Docker Desktop requires that piece of software running and hence the issue you are having.

Ok, so LCOW would still give me access to the Docker Commands Build and Push with a VSTS Build Agent Task?