Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

How separate different environment to have different and separated applications

Hi,
I bag pardon for stupid next questions but I’m not a programmer and use Docker as testing environment for different applications.
Now I got a Docker where I’ve installed postgres, pgadmin, erp application. Everything work fine.
My question is now about what to do to create another different parallel environment using i.e.
mariadb, phpmyadmin , another different erp application.

I mean that I would have two different desktop icons or two logins who link two different clean situation, not the sum of two with many many container to identify.
I’m worried to invent or try something because I have no the skills required.
Please use language for dummies…;-)) on reply

I am not quite sure what you currently have and what your goal ist.

Do you mean a single container or eg. a docker-compose setup?

What login links? Docker is usually just console stuff. There is no need to login into something using an icon?

Do you want to do this to test your stuff with a different environment?

If you want to test your stuff with different environments using docker I suggest you take a look at docker compose

You can then create multiple compose files, which describe the same architecture, which you can then use to test. For example compose-1 could specify a postgres DB and pgadmin, compose-2 could create a mysql DB and a phpmyadmin container.

Hello and thanks for reply

this is what I have now as to test Idempiere ERP . I run the applications one at time and then Idempiere
1)Postgres
2)PgAdmin
3)Idempiere

What I’m wondering is … if I add other 3 or four application for ERPNext it start to be confusing to run every time the right applications.
So my question is about if it possible to have something similar of above environment separated for ERPNext testing

If I run these command below after pulling for me it becomes a bit messy