How to map home folder to map docker volume to local storage?

Im a massive noob when it comes to backend dev-ops stuff, but I’m trying to setup a KMS provided by Tatum.io that let’s you sign transactions with private keys. Everything seems straightforward except for this one step in their Github repo that mentions mapping the home folder so that the docker volume is mapped to locale storage. Only problem is, I’m not really sure how to go about it. Could anyone help me understand what to do? The Docker docs they link to are not helpful to me at all (too much info to know where to start).

It is just mounting your local folder into the container. I would have given you the same link or based on what I saw in the README of the mentioned repo, this link:

Please, quote the commands or statements that you don’t understand and try to explain what you do understand so we can tell you about the rest.

If the documentation is not enough, there are many explanations on the internet with real examples. You need to learn the basics of containers and Docker if you want to use it. If you have a specific question, we can try to answer that or give you a better link which explains it.

From my understanding the command they give should be automatically mounting the $HOME folder to the /root/.tatumrc directory through the -v command. The problem is that is does not do this as when I go to use the commands, I get an error saying there is no storage path or password (the password is stored in the .env file in the $HOME folder).Im assuming that I get this error because the KMS is trying to access the password, but it’s not accessible because the volume is not mapped to the $HOME folder.

I just wonder why they put the step to map the home folder if the commands in the other steps do this already?