Is Docker a good option for running legacy software in a current OS?

Hi, I’m very new to Docker and wanted to make sure I am on the right path before diving in too deep.

I am moving my main desktop from Debian Wheezy (#!) to Arch Linux. One of the items I need to port over is a cron script that uses a utility called ledger to mine data from a GnuCash file, generate charts of spending vs budget, and emails them to my wife and I each morning. The latest version of ledger (and the only one available for Arch) does not support GnuCash files any longer, and I must install an older version which is still supported in terms of libraries on Wheezy.

I cannot get it to run in Arch. I don’t want this issue to be a blocking point. I am wondering if I can use Docker to run this script with it’s dependencies in a Wheezy-based Docker container. I think I would need to:

• Get a Wheezy container installed
  • Install ledger 2.6 with proper dependencies
  • Map a local drive (containing my GnuCash data file) in the container so I can access it
  • Map a local drive for outputting the images.
  • Execute the script via Docker with my host cron

The script also sends the email via Gmail. Not sure if I would want to keep that in the container or just let Docker handle the stuff I can’t do in Arch and keep the rest there.

If anybody more experienced can weigh in on the suitability and feasibility of this, it would be much appreciated. Any tips would be even better. For now I’m poring through the docs.

Thanks!

Hi,

Jessie Frazelle has a great blog post about containerizing desktop apps with a link to her Dockerfiles: https://blog.jessfraz.com/post/docker-containers-on-the-desktop/

It should be possible to do what you’re describing.

Thanks,

Jerry

1 Like

I meant to mention you can mount host directories or files:

Hello!

This is indeed a very valid use case for docker.

Your Dockerfile might look something like this:

FROM debian:wheezy