Is using a Docker to isolate production environment is the correct approach?

I’m new to containers.

We have a Win10 Pro server. There are bunch of applications installed on it and a lot of garbage. In addition, the server has our production application (windows based) that requires certain other GUI windows-based applications (app1, app2) to be installed. Once in a while some developer upgrades either our production application and/or those app1/app2. This breaks stuff and makes tests to be unreliable.

I don’t want to reinstall the OS or spend time going over all the applications and delete the unsued ones since someone will install them again at some point (please accept this as a fact).

After reading about containers it seems that a container, such as Docker is the right way to go.

1. Is a container the right solution or is it an overkill?
  2. Will I be able to use the container without deleting all the unused applications on that server?
  3. I still need to be able to access and manually start GUI app1 and app2 (e.g. VLC). Will the container allow me to do this like with regular VM or the app1 and app2 will be started inside the Docker and I won’t be able to interact with them (e.g. with a mouse)?

If you need GUI, I would still use virtual machine with snapshots. Then you can restore the state of the machine from the snapshot. It would be similar to what containers do when you remove it and create it again. In case of VMs it would not be recreating but restoring.

Containers usually don’t have GUI. There are solutions, but you would still need remote desktop or other tricks, so I don’t think it is worth it and I actually don’t know if it is possible on Windows and if it is, how.

I don’t understand this question. Can you explain it? Why would you delete anything?

By the way, Windows 10 Pro is not a server :slight_smile: I note this because Windows Server works differently and Docker runs on Windows server differently.