Single Instance Of Docker Vs Multiple Instances Pros/Cons

Hi,

I am new to docker and am currently running it on a Proxmox node.

I am currently creating a container for each docker file and so far this has been working great.

I am curious to get opinions on the best practice for docker usage and any pros and cons to each way.

Option 1:
Run 1 instance of docker and have all docker images run on this instance.

Pros:
Only require 1 IP Address for the container and then port forward to access the images.

Con:
If there was a system error you could loose everything.

Option 2:
Run each docker image in it’s own instance of docker.

Pros:
Each instance would have its own IP Address.
If there were any errors you would only loose that instance of docker.

Cons:
Using multiple IP Addresses and having to remember what is connected to each.
More resource usage.

t0ny84

I don’t think anyone would run multiple docker daemon on the same machine normally.

If there is a system error, you could loose everything anyway. If you mean a Docker daemon error, what error do you mean? Docker storage driver error? In any other case I don’t think you would loose anyting. I would rather create a redundant filesystem and have a regular backup than run multiple Docker daemon.

First of all, why would ieach instance have its own IP address? Docker can use any of your networks. What IP address do you mean?

Let’s say you are right.
Why would that be a pro? :slight_smile: You also mentioned it as a con, because you have to remember which service running on which IP, but what is the advantage then? Unless you want to test some special cases, one IP address is should be enough.

If you have problem with running multiple service on the same IP using the same port, then you need a reverse proxy. Search for it on the forum or on the net and you can find planty of discussions about it :slight_smile: