Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Swarm Stack Deploy doesn't error when adding a file that is to large

(Brian Wagner) #1

I am asking/reporting this in the forums to make sure I am not missing something in the documentation before I open up a github issue on it. Please let me know if this is not the proper way to do this. I am a newbie here on this type of thing…

We were receiving the following error when trying to deploy a simple URLRewrite application with a configuration file that is about ~524K and 11500 lines long. The error we received was this:

service redirector: config not found: <Stack Name>_urlrewrite

The stack name doesn’t matter. Removing the configs sections from the following compose file allows it to deploy fine.

version: '3.3'
services:
 redirector:
   image: 'internal.docker.registry.local/redirector/tomcat-redirector:latest'
   ports:
     - '8001:8080'
   deploy:
     replicas: 1
     placement:
       constraints:
         - node.role != manager
   configs:
     -
       source: urlrewrite
       target: /usr/local/tomcat/webapps/redirector/WEB-INF/urlrewrite.xml
configs:
 urlrewrite:
   file: ./urlrewrites.xml

If the configs section to define the file itself is placed above the service definition I receive the following output with the full 524K file:

docker stack deploy --prune --compose-file ./docker-compose-int.yml wags
Creating network wags_default
Creating config wags_urlrewrite_xml
service redirector-int: config not found: wags_urlrewrite_xml

If I drop the size of the file down to only a few lines I get the following:

docker stack deploy --prune --compose-file ./docker-compose-int.yml wags
Ignoring unsupported options: privileged

Creating network wags_default
Creating config wags_urlrewrite_xml
Creating service wags_redirector-int

I found the solution by accident when I tried to add the file via portainer’s web interface and it gave me the following error:

Failure