Updated Docker and Everything is Broken

Hi All!

I have a nightmare situation I could really use some assistance with and have no idea where to start.

I’ve been using Docker and Docker Compose for many years now and just hit a brick wall.

Here’s some context:
I manage several GCP Compute instances running CentOS 7 with Docker and Docker Compose, and after updating one of them yesterday with yum update the VM crashed and was no-longer accessible by any means (I usually use ssh).

So after a day of trying to figure out what happened and reading through endless documentation as well as post regarding similar issues I had no choice but to completely rebuild (by means of creating a new VM) and installing Docker and Docker Compose fresh. The only thing I could do to recover all the files I previously used to orchestrate my Docker containers was to make a snapshot of the bad VM boot disk and create a new external disk from the snapshot and attach it to the new VM (just to copy all my docker-compose.yml and Dockerfile’s for use to re-setup everything from ground zero.

I probably hadn’t updated Docker in about 8 or 9 months on the VM that died and the files I was using and any new containers created up till the VM died over the last couple months always worked fine without a problem. Specifically when launching new websites.

For the life of me I can’t get anything to work right now. Even working with the simplest docker-compose.yml that build from a custom Dockerfile. The build process don’t fail and the containers seem to run just fine but all I get is permission denied when trying to access a domain publicly with the following.

“403 Forbidden You don’t have permission to access this resource.”
I started with using the initial build files to stripping them down to practically nothing just to try and get a simple index page to display. Which has caused me a headache so horrible I feel like I’m bouncing it off a brick wall.