Access dockerized services via the container's IP address?

Hi,

I’m rather new to Docker, and am using the stable release of Docker for Mac on my laptop (mid-2012 MBPr, latest OSX 10.11.6).

I’m wondering if it’s possible to access the services provided by a dockerized app, via the IP address of the container?

For example, I can pull and run the nginx image no problem. I can run with the -p 80:80 settings and access http://localhost just fine, and i will see the nginx homepage.

But I don’t want port forwarding.

So I just do docker run -d --name nginx-test nginx to create my container.

Now, using docker inspect <name>, I can see that my nginx container is running on the bridged network, at 172.17.0.2

I want to access http://172.17.0.2 from my host machine (my Mac).

But every time I try to curl that IP or hit it via a web browser, I get nothing - no connection, no response, nothing.

I’ve spent days searching google, asking on twitter and various slack channels. Everyone keeps assuming i’m just trying to use port mapping with the -p option, and it’s really frustrating me. I don’t want port mapping / forwarding. I want to access the containerized app’s services by it’s IP address.

So, is it possible to use the 172.* IP address of a docker container from my host machine? If so, what am I doing wrong / missing?

Thanks!

• Derck
1 Like

No. This is a well-known limitation of Docker for Mac.

(It’s not really good practice on Docker for Linux either. I like to think of my containers as packaged processes, not lightweight VMs. So if you start nginx on your host, what’s the IP address of that process?)

1 Like

wow - that’s a HUGE bummer :frowning:

what’s the point in packaging an app in a container, if i can’t access that app?