Access my nginx container from my external PC

Hello everyone,

I am new to Docker world.

I built myself a small PC to play with Docker, on Ubuntu, it works very well. At the same time I have my everyday PC, under Windows 11. I can access my Ubuntu Docker PC via an SSH connection, no worries it works very well.

For information, on my Windows 11 PC, the default gateway is 192.168.1.1.

If I create an nginx container for example, on my Ubuntu, I can access it via localhost:8080 for example. But how do I access it from my Windows 11 PC?

I tried to play with the network settings but without success, I read a lot of tutorials but I didn’t find simple solutions, or I didn’t understand anything :slight_smile:

Can you guide me?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Hi :slight_smile:

You should be able to access it via ubuntu-ip:8080, but it depends on how you started the container, care to share? :slight_smile:

Oh my god i’m so ashamed :face_with_hand_over_mouth:

Obviously you have to call the address of the ubuntu on port 8080

For information I launched my container with the following command:

docker run -d -p 8080:80 nginx:latest

Sincerely sorry for this post and a big thank you for the clear and fast answer :wink:

I take this opportunity to ask another question … I hope more interesting :grinning:

When I try to assign an IP address to my container with the following command:
docker run -d --name c1 -p 192.168.1.100:8080:80 nginx:latest

I have the following error message:

docker: Error response from daemon: driver failed programming external connectivity on endpoint c1 (fe6e52aec1e88aa75f177f814fd8feae2fdf7e498a3dd6de4b0ca2dec3ffbf6a): Error starting userland proxy: listen tcp4 192.168.1.100:8080: bind: cannot assign requested address

No problem :smiley: its all new and you will properly get more eureka moments along the way :slight_smile:

Can you explain what you want to do, do you want to get the container an new IP from your dhcp or?