Advice needed for best practices about Docker Volumes, root folder location, mount options,

Hello,

I am relatively new to Docker containers, and their inner workings. I am also relatively new to some advanced Linux concepts. Most of my questions get answered by documentation or some tutorials, but a few I still have to ask. This will be a longer text, so I am thankful to anyone willing to spend time reading it. I’ll try to emphasize sections and questions.

My environment is a Proxmox cluster of three nodes and a few Windows machines. Some nodes have a Debian 11 or 12 VM containing Docker installation. All the running containers are Compose-based. I am hopeful that I will be able to make some informed decisions and change all the different YAML files to a personal standard that I would follow with all the future containers I’ll add to my servers.

Bind vs Docker Volumes

Initially, I started with compose files in form as I found them made by developers of various products I used. I did not trust the Docker Volumes and tried to use bind mounts whenever possible. Since I am more often running into compose files where I am not able to switch to using bind mounts I have to learn more about Docker Volumes. Often I read that Docker Volumes are better than bind mounts, but I did not find the reasoning behind it. So, the first question is:
What makes Docker Volumes a better solution than bind-mounted folders?

My primary concern is the data safety of content inside Volumes and the ease of accessing data from the base system (in my case the VM). I am concerned that something like docker volume prune would delete important data in the Volume of a container that is not running at the moment. The message following the prune command says that it will remove all anonymous local volumes. However, I could not find what exactly the term means, or what makes a volume anonymous.