Auto starting a container on system reboot

I am new to docker and I have inherited a set up that I have to maintain. The instructions left by the person who quit say to first do a docker run, then remove a lock file, start a database server, and finally run a python script.

I want to set it up so that all that happens when the machine boots. I’ve read about the the --restart flag on Docker run, and I have these questions:

-would specifying that cause the container to start at boot time?
-if so, how does that work - i.e. where is the flag stored so it knows to restart at boot?
-if not, how can I start it at boot?
-I would guess that only starts the container. How would I start everything at boot?

Thanks!

Containers with a restart policy will follow that policy when the docker daemon is launched. As long as your system launches the docker daemon on boot, your containers will come up according to their restart policy. The restart policy is part of the container metadata that is created when the container is created.

I’m not sure what you mean by this:

I would guess that only starts the container. How would I start everything at boot?

1 Like

Hi, you can also create a start-up script for Docker images, so it is integrated with systemd, upstart or whatever your distro of choice uses. The local init-System will then take care of your images.

Kind Regards,
Beet

I mean everything that I also have to do besides the ‘docker run’ to make the app usable (remove the lock file, start the database server, and run a python script).

Anything like that that needs to get run after you issue a docker run should be handled by an ENTRYPOINT script.

Thanks for the reply. I read about ENTRYPOINT but I found the docs very confusing. I have a Dockerfile and at the end I put 3 RUN commands for the 3 commands I have to execute after I do the docker run. But they did not seem to get executed. Was that the correct way to do it? If not how would I do it?