Bad Gateway - docker0 state DOWN

Ok I have a project that I’m currently running in 2 places as I learn how to use this system. The project is currently live on the internet and I’m taking it over. So I’ve got the project running on a desktop server and on Desktop for Windows as I go throughthe docker learning curves.

I’ve never used docker before a month ago. After 2 weeks of run around and trying to get a former employee to remember how the project works and all of the dependencies and then finding out that the code left behind was in a non-working state I have finally gotten the project to build and all of the associated images in the docker compose to run without exiting/erroring out.

A brief synopsis, the project is a Typescript website compiled using npm and therefore JavaScript in the end and using node.js. There is a front end and a backend project that are included. I then have nginx as my server and mongdb for storage/data and redis all running. When all is said and done I have 4 containers running: proxy(nginx), redis(redis:alpine), db(mongo), web(js).

As I said I have it running on an Ubuntu 22.04 server, and Docker Desktop for Windows. In both cases I’m getting 502 bad gateway. If I look at the logs of proxy(nginx) I see the following when trying to connect:

2023/08/01 20:10:37 [error] 7#7: *10 connect() failed (111: Connection refused) while connecting to upstream, client: 172.22.0.1, server: 192.168.67.63, request: "GET /favicon.ico HTTP/1.1", upstream: "http://172.22.0.4:3005/favicon.ico", host: "192.168.67.63", referrer: "https://192.168.67.63/"

In addition to that my docker0 interface says it is DOWN even when my docker containers/images are running:

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host