Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Benchmarking a docker container

docker
dockerhub

(Vp2405) #1

Hi,
I’m new to Docker and i have to run some benchmark tools within docker containers, for example sysbench, but I have some doubts.
For example, I must have to run sysbench in a (for example) ubuntu image, or can i create an image only with it and build it? In Docker Hub there are many images, but I had a look to the code hosted on github, and it seems that the general way is to do (for example)

FROM ubuntu:latest
RUN apt-get install sysbench

if I try to write a Dockerfile with only

RUN apt-get install sysbench

I get : Please provide a source image with from prior to run

Thank you for the help.

(David Maze) #2

What’s your actual goal with this? Since Docker shares so much with the underlying system, a lot of the things sysbench claims to test won’t be much different within Docker vs. without. It seems like an unusual choice for a first Docker project to me.

You can write a Dockerfile that starts FROM scratch and you will get an absolutely empty filesystem. If you do that, your RUN apt-get install ... command will fail because there’s not an apt-get binary in $PATH, or, for that matter, a /bin directory.

If you statically compiled sysbench outside of Docker, you could write a Dockerfile like

FROM scratch
COPY sysbench /
ENTRYPOINT ["/sysbench"]
CMD ["help"]

But, again, this is a sort of intermediate-to-advanced setup. (You will have an image that only contains the sysbench binary and not, say, a shell; so if it doesn’t work your debugging options will be a little limited, and I’d suggest getting much more comfortable with the Docker ecosystem before trying this.)