Can You Use Local OS Image to Create Container

Greetings!

Though I have created a simple environment and spun up some containers, I am relatively new with all this.

Regarding my lack of experience; I have an image (name.img) of an Ubuntu system that I would like to spin up as a container.

I am having some trouble finding what I am looking for via google, or, I have found it and just don’t understand enough about Docker enough to recognize that I have.

Is it possible to run a Docker Container from/with an Ubuntu image?

If so, how?

Please, and thank you!

+ [ === Some Notes === ] +

• Running Docker on/in Debian via CLI
  • Using Portainer (if can be done this way, I am open to that as well, though I think a good understanding of CLI is a healthy habit)

I don’t think so and even if it’s possible it’s bad practice and kinda defeats some advantages of docker.
One big advantage of Docker ist that you can use a text file (Dockerfile) to configure and build a runnable image from it on any host. If you force an existing image in a docker image you can’t configure it using the dockerfile.

I really suggest you invest a bit of time to port your image to a Dockerfile. This mostly takes less than an hour or even just a few minutes.

That’s exactly what I want to do!

I was looking into using a Dockerfile last night before heading to bed to see if I could, and I am sure my question wasn’t very clear, but that is what I am trying to do.

I have an image that I want to port into a Dockerfile so I can spinup many containers of that image.

That is what I am having trouble finding information on how to do. Most of the info I have found has been about pulling from the Docker Hub, but nothing about how to work with something in my local system.

Search for ‘Dockerfile tutorials’ or take a look at the official docker reference, which is really detailed and explains most stuff.