Code review for this compose stack?

Looking for comments on how to improve on this compose file to fit tighter security and best practices.

The objective of this project is to be able to spawn “private” and anonymized search engines on a VPS. This is to allow searching without tracking or limits based on location or ISP.

The projects works well as is but there are 2 things I want to add to it in the future:

• Make the service available through the Lokinet network (similar to tor in some ways)
  • Be able to deploy this on swarm (multiple app containers, several routes out)

I have no experience with swarm but I am weary that there may be some major differences in how the network/routing works.

Your compose file looks good to me and I have to say you use more “best practices” then I usually do :slight_smile: You have a non-root user, you use capabilities insead of privileged container, you have healthcheck, limits, variables and default values for variables. The compose file is readable and well-structured, so I really can’t tell you much more, although I am not so good at security if this is what you are intrested in.

“latest” tag is usually not recommended, but that is just a default value, so it could be okay.

Your readme file is clear too containing the variables, so well done.

1 Like

Thanks mate! I’m here to learn. :smile::

I run my daemon with user namepaces which mean that they aren’t able to do anything with the host. However, the vpn container needs to do stuff which requires more access, but I wanted to restrict that to an absolute minimum.

You are right about the tagging part, however in my private config since it’s pointing to my private repo/image it would only get updated when I push. I will admit that my development environment is very ghetto/barebones. I’m still getting my bearings about those Makefiles and eventually I’ll figure out a better way to do automated versioning.

What @rimelek said :slight_smile:

Some additional notes: