Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Configurable web application container that connect to other containers

Hi,

First of all, I apologize if my questions does not make sense. I am relatively new to the Docker technologies.
I am wondering how I can build a configurable containerized Docker web application that pulls and displays data from other containerized Docker applications. The goal here is rather than creating a web application container for each containerized application, there will be only one web application container that will be pulling data from any other containerized application once the user enters the configurations for the container application they interested in displaying. What technologies and tools should I be using to achieve this? I would greatly appreciate any recommendation and resources to guide me in this. Thanks in advance.

Hi

If I understand you correctly, I think you need to take another approach, instead of pulling data from other containers, you should have an image that is pre configured that the user can run.

But I might be misunderstanding your question since you give very little info on what you’re actually trying to accomplish or examples of this :slight_smile:

Hi,

Thank you very much for your prompt response. Hypothetically speaking, let’s say there are 10 X containers that are very similar to each other doing very similar jobs. What I could do is build a web app in each of the containers and display certain data via UI. But this approach would make containers larger than they need to be. Rather what I would like to do is since these 10 X containers share common properties, I want to have one web app UI container that can be configured by the user depending on which X container they want to run out of 10 X containers. Hope this example clarifies my question :slightly_smiling_face: