Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Container route all ports except one to one network and the single port to a second one

Hi,

I’m rather new to Docker albeit I have already set up some virtuallans with macvlan and different private networks within docker compose.

But now I want to route just one port of a container to a different network.

Basically one container should route all its traffic to an openvpn proxy instance but one port should be routed to the hostnet without exposing the whole openvpn network to the hostnet or the whole hostnet to the source container.

Could someone point me to the right direction. Maybe it is obvious but I’m just a bit paralized. Or is that even possible?

Cheers

Encrypt traffic on an overlay network🔗
All swarm service management traffic is encrypted by default, using the AES algorithm in GCM mode. Manager nodes in the swarm rotate the key used to encrypt gossip data every 12 hours.

To encrypt application data as well, add --opt encrypted when creating the overlay network. This enables IPSEC encryption at the level of the vxlan. This encryption imposes a non-negligible performance penalty, so you should test this option before using it in production.

When you enable overlay encryption, Docker creates IPSEC tunnels between all the nodes where tasks are scheduled for services attached to the overlay network. These tunnels also use the AES algorithm in GCM mode and manager nodes automatically rotate the keys every 12 hours.

Do not attach Windows nodes to encrypted overlay networks.

Overlay network encryption is not supported on Windows. If a Windows node attempts to connect to an encrypted overlay network, no error is detected but the node cannot communicate.

SWARM MODE OVERLAY NETWORKS AND STANDALONE CONTAINERS
You can use the overlay network feature with both --opt encrypted --attachable and attach unmanaged containers to that network: