Copy entire layer from previous build stage in multi-stage build

Hi to all,

This is my first time posting here, so I’m sorry if this isn’t the relevant category for this post, but I couldn’t find one more suitable for it.

What I’m currently experiencing is a difficulty reducing the final docker image size for an application that I’m developing. With the multi-stage build system some issues are resolved around the “builder pattern”, but since my application is built with C++ on top of several open-source libraries (most of which don’t play nicely when trying to compile statically) I need to make sure that I use only what is needed in the final image for distribution.

Initially I was just downloading the source code repositories and archives and compiling the libraries, but the image size became too large, so I added commands to delete them and the image became smaller, but it can become even smaller if only the relevant files are in it.

Since for some libraries I need the latest version of them (which isn’t present in the apt-get repositories) I have to download them and have the dependency dev libraries from apt-get to be able to compile them. But once they are compiled, the dev libraries aren’t needed. Sure I could have a command to delete the dev libraries after that, but the way the layers work, it won’t result in a smaller image size, or if I have all commands on 1 line, I won’t be able to benefit from the caching mechanism.