Couple of beginner's questions (docker/mediawiki)

I’m new to docker (and a relative Linux novice). I’ve set up Docker on a Lubuntu 16.10 machine and installed a mediawiki container using info from here:

https://linuxconfig.org/mediawiki-easy-deployment-with-docker-container

The questions I have are:

1. How can I automatically restart my mediawiki container whenever the machine is rebooted?
  2. How can I persist any new data written to the container (e.g. new wiki articles written) between restarts? At the moment I lose everything (including my mediawiki config) every time the container is restarted.

how? don’t store data IN the container

the doc for mediawiki says that it would use mysql and could have volumes used

so you would make the data persistent by using host storage for the database (container) and/or volumes to hold the data

Ok so presumably the database shouldn’t be run in a container for the same reason (i.e. that the container is ephemeral)? My instinct is that maybe I shouldn’t be using Docker for a permanent installation of this type (i.e. that it’s better suited to development or test uses where persistence isn’t required) - would you say that was correct?

no… just design it so that the data is stored on a host volume, the database should be a container, with its storage on a host volume… so that you can change the containers any time u need to…

rule: do not store volatile/important DATA inside a container…
easy to do.

there is no magic here with docker. you still have to do all the normal system design work. then using docker can help speed up the deployment, and reduce long term maintenance.

if u were doing real systems, you would not put the database DATA on the same disk as the operating system and database CODE…

same here