Create a docker container for a 3rd party desktop application

I am new to Docker and containers and I am trying to figure out if I can create a container for a 3rd party desktop application we use. I am trying to run multiple instances of this application on one computer but the application restricts it to one runtime. Is it possible to take the application and isolate it in a few containers that run at the same time?

I am fairly confident that I could create some VM’s and run the application on those but that approach would waste the resources of the computer. Is Docker capable of doing this? If yes then where can I look to start? (There was another similar post from 2019 that received no replies. Deploying a Windows Desktop Application)

There are many similar topic I think. Try to search for “GUI”.

Docker is not designed for desktop apps. It is possible in Linux and but I am not sure it is on Windows. Since you can run desktop apps remotely on Linux and send the graphical interface back to the client, it is an option with Linux containers too but you will not get the same experience as you would running the app without container so I wouldn’t do it with apps I want to deliver to other people. When I say you will not get the same experience I mean when I have problem on Linux, it almost always related to the GUI. Soething missing or I run into a bug in the window manager. Imagine it in a container. You have to do it perfectly. Sometimes the window just looks bad, sometimes the navigation doesn’t work and so on.

So it is good to play with and I like to try it from time to time but If you want to run stable desktop apps in a container, I don’t recommend Docker. There are other tools running desktop apps in an isolated environment like Flatpak, AppImage or even snap

I don’t know if there are any real Windows alternatives. There is Windows Sandbox but that is only a temporary sandbox for one instance.