Destructive tutorial actually deletes images

I just followed an interactive tutorial that popped up on login to “show” me how to delete images - it actually deleted ALL my images! Who creates a tutorial like that?

If you share where you found it, we might be able to find out.

The tutorial? It popped up when I logged in. Maybe tutorial is the not the right term.

What appears to be obvious to you, is not for me.

Is it in Docker Desktop? Is it in Docker Hub? Is it somewhere else?

Sorry, let me be more complete. Yesterday, I logged into DockerHub for the first time in months. Right after I logged in this dialog popped up as is typical in apps to show off new features. I followed the steps, assuming it was merely showing me how I could clean up unused images from DockerHub if I wanted to. Normally, these feature tutorials (again, I might be using the wrong term) point out features and demonstrate how to navigate through them. It was not my expectation that any actual data would be effected.

I see. I do remember that long time ago when Image Management feature was introduced, there was indeed a short tutorial on how to use it, it was a smaller popup that guided through how to delete an image. I don’t remember loosing any images when I clicked through the guide back then.

Though, I have no idea if the behaviour of the guide was changed. It is hard to imagine, but not impossible.

Update: it can be actually started using the “where to start” link underneath the “search by tag” input field on the Image Management tab. Let me repeat it and see what happens.

Update2: the guide only shows guidance, it doesn’t accept selections on the shown pages (which show dummy values), an attempt to select something (click outside the popup) just opens the next page of the guide.

Can you open Image Management and start the “where to start” guide to confirm it was the guide you used?