Docker-compose scale in swarm scheduling always same node

Hi, I have a swarm with one master and three agents. When issuing a docker-compose up command followed by a docker-compose scale www=n (I have a www, redis and loadbalance container) the new www containers will always be created on the same agent. It goes to the point where there are no more resources available to schedule container (even with 2 agent nodes completely free). I was under the impression the new container should be spread along the free-er nodes according to my swarm strategy (which is spread).
I’m on Docker Machine with Windows 10 host. Any ideas?
Thank you!

Got a similar issue here, did you figure it out?
thanks!

Had the same issue.
In my case the ‘problem’ was that the necessary image was being built by compose on the first run. That was done towards a specific selected node. When you scale up afterwards that 's the only node on which the image is available.
It should work better when images are pulled from a repository and not built by compose (which is a dev thing anyway).
Workaround for me:

• create a affinity in the compose file towards another node
  • perform the docker-compose build service
  • remove the affinity
  • docker-compose scale service=x will now use the other node

I saw that UCP makes sure that necessary images are available on other nodes by performing some magic

I was told a workaround is to use multi-host networking, didn’t try it yet. Just FYI here.

Hi,

mult-host networking and creating an overlay network (from the compose file) are a requirement if you want the defined services to be able to communicate with each other (the usage of --link on docker run or links in compose files). This is now deprecated (see also https://docs.docker.com/engine/userguide/networking/default_network/dockerlinks/).