Docker-compose scheduled temporary tar file in /tmp

I’m new to Docker. I’ve also been unable to find much in the way of documentation around this automated activity.

In reviewing the activity of a server running 4 Docker containers, I’ve found that docker-compose automatically creates a temporary tar file in /tmp at random intervals. I’d like to determine the purpose of the creation of this temp tar file in /tmp and why it’s needed.

I’ve also found that .dockerignore file can be used to control / exclude files from this tar file, but I don’t know where the .dockerignore file should live in each container?

Additionally, if there is more than one Docker container running on a single server, can docker-compose processes run concurrently (i.e., can more than one of these tar files be created simultaneously in /tmp)?

Finally, is there a way to control the frequency with which this file is created? I don’t see a cron job for it, so I’d like to know how this automated activity is controlled and what controls it.

I’m attempting to plan for the disk space needed on the aforementioned server. In that goal, I need to better understand the purpose of this automated docker-compose activity and the possible growth size of these tar files to best support the disk space needed for that growth.

Any information is helpful.

Thanks.

1. Docker Compose will not create anything randomly since it doesn’t run as a service.
  2. tar files could be filesystem contexts for docker build. When a client run docker build (without buildkit) it sends the whole context to the server even if the server and the client are the same, so the server can build the docker image.
  3. .dockerignore is not something that you copy inside a container. It is on the host usually next to the Dockerfile tand contains patterns to ignore some files and not to send it to the server.