Docker containers can't ping each other

I’m new to docker and not sure if Im doing this right.

I am deploying an app that is clustered and communication is done via ipv4.

I have 3 nodes that can all ping each other without issue.

I then create the following docker network on all 3 hosts:

docker network create --subnet 172.18.0.0/16 mynet

From the host OS on each node I can ping 172.0.0.1.

I then start each container with a static IP but the nodes are unable to ping each other. No firewall is in play here.

NODE1

docker run -id
–network “mynet”
–expose 9400
-p 9400:9400
–ip 172.18.0.2
–ulimit nofile=65536:65536
–ulimit memlock=-1:-1
–memory=“2g”
–memory-swap=“2g”
–memory-swappiness=0
$image

NODE2

docker run -id
–network “mynet”
–expose 9400
-p 9400:9400
–ip 172.18.0.3
–ulimit nofile=65536:65536
–ulimit memlock=-1:-1
–memory=“2g”
–memory-swap=“2g”
–memory-swappiness=0
$image

Thanks for any info,

My recommendation is to never use explicit IP addresses anywhere inside Docker space. Don’t use a --subnet option here, and don’t use a --ip option when starting your container. But:

If you add an explicit --name option to this, whatever name you provide here will be visible as a DNS name to other containers on the same network; and since you specified -p 9400:9400, from outside Docker space, you can also access this service via port 9400 on the host.

I’ll note that the two commands you gave have the same -p 9400:... host port, so one of them will fail to start up. Or, if when you say “node” you mean you have three physically separate hosts, unless you’ve done something special, each node has its own Docker daemon and its own private networking space, so you actually have three separate “mynet” networks, one on each host; you’d need an overlay network if you want them to communicate.