Docker containers in read only mode

Hi Guys,

I am still pretty new to docker and i have been struggling with an issue

I am trying to setup some docker containers precisely the redash appplication. Here is my working code:

sudo docker network create redash_default
sudo docker container run --name redis --network redash_default -d redis:4.0-alpine
sudo docker container run --name postgres --network redash_default --env-file /opt/redash/env -v /opt/redash/postgres-data -d postgres:9.5.21-alpine
sudo docker container run --rm -p 5000:5000 -e REDASH_WEB_WORKERS=4 --name server --network redash_default --env-file env redash/redash:7.0.0.b18042 create_db
sudo docker container run -d --restart always -p 5000:5000 -e REDASH_WEB_WORKERS=4 --name server --network redash_default --env-file env redash/redash:7.0.0.b18042

sudo docker container run -d --restart always -e QUEUES=celery -e WORKERS_COUNT=1 --name scheduler --network redash_default --env-file env redash/redash:7.0.0.b18042

sudo docker container run -d --restart always -e QUEUES=scheduled_queries,schemas -e WORKERS_COUNT=1 --name scheduled_worker --network redash_default --env-file env redash/redash:7.0.0.b18042

sudo docker container run -d --restart always -e QUEUES=queries -e WORKERS_COUNT=2 --name adhoc_worker --network redash_default --env-file env redash/redash:7.0.0.b18042

sudo docker container run -d --restart always -p 80:80 --link server:redash --name nginx --network redash_default redash/nginx:latest

however i am only allowed to run the containers in read-only mode which is breaking the application. Only redis seemed to like the read-only mode so i thought about mounting an external persistent disk on the instance /dockervol/ where the apps can be given RW access but i cant seem to get that work here is something i have tried for example with nginx