Docker daemon failed

Hi my local environment didn’t show up when I ran my Portainer GUI and i ended up tweaking some settings in my Ubuntu server which seemingly corrupted my docker setup and now my docker can’t start anymore. Maybe somebody could help before I give up! I’m still a beginner

My current status:

docker ps

Cannot connect to the Docker daemon at unix:///var/run/docker.sock. Is the docker daemon running?

systemctl status docker

× docker.service - Docker Application Container Engine
     Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/docker.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
     Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Mon 2024-03-04 03:07:12 UTC; 11h ago
TriggeredBy: ○ docker.socket
       Docs: https://docs.docker.com
    Process: 881 ExecStart=/usr/bin/dockerd -H fd:// --containerd=/run/containerd/containerd.sock (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
   Main PID: 881 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
        CPU: 412ms

Mar 04 03:07:12 linodeusercontent.com systemd[1]: docker.service: Failed to schedule restart job: Unit docker.socket has a bad unit file setting.
Mar 04 03:07:12 .linodeusercontent.com systemd[1]: docker.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.

Anybody know where i should go from here?

What settings? That socket is created automatically when you start the docker.socket systemd unit, but you have to stop the docker service as well. If you changed the owner or permissions or the file is corrupted, you can delete and recreate it that way. Does it work with sudo docker info ?

I’m assuming that I corrupted the docker.socket file by running vi and inserting the wrong parameters and don’t know how to restore them to default however the result for ‘sudo docker info is below;

sudo docker info

Client:
Version: 24.0.5
Context: default
Debug Mode: false

Server:
ERROR: Cannot connect to the Docker daemon at unix:///var/run/docker.sock. Is the docker daemon running?
errors pretty printing info