Docker Go tutorial

Hi I am new to Docker and I am trying to follow this tutorial at the following link: What will you learn in this module? | Docker Documentation and the step I am currently at is “Develop your app”.

I am trying to start the database engine using cockroachdb using the command shown on the tutorial:

docker run -d \
  --name roach \
  --hostname db \
  --network mynet \
  -p 26257:26257 \
  -p 8080:8080 \
  -v roach:/cockroach/cockroach-data \
  cockroachdb/cockroach:latest-v20.1 start-single-node \

However when I use this command I get the following error:

WARNING: The requested image's platform (linux/amd64) does not match the detected host platform (linux/arm64/v8) and no specific platform was requested

Then I tried a fix that was suggested upon searching it up, by adding the --platform flag

docker run -d \
  --name roach \
  --hostname db \
  --network mynet --platform linux/amd64 \
  -p 26257:26257 \
  -p 8080:8080 \
  -v roach:/cockroach/cockroach-data \
  cockroachdb/cockroach:latest start-single-node \
  --insecure

My current environment is an Apple M1 (apple silicon). Could I please have some suggestions/help on this issue?

Thank you

Hi :slight_smile:

The platform tag wont help you here.
The problem is that you are running on ARM64/v8 (Raspberry pi 4 maybe?)
But the image is only made for AMD64 cpus: Docker Hub

So, you need to find another image, or make it yourself :slight_smile:

On dockerhub you can sort by arch type:
https://hub.docker.com/search?q=CockroachDB&architecture=arm64

Maybe you can find an alternative to the image in the tutorial :slight_smile: