Docker not auto updating

I have a docker container running a Dash app with Python. However it would auto-update things like datetime.now or sql queries.

A simple example is that I have a datetime picker and it should always be showing the current date/time however it only shows the date/time of when the container was created. Naturally it worked before I launched it in docker, but it won’t auto update in the container.

I’m very new to docker so I’m not sure if there’s something different I need to add to my docker run command? I’ve tried adding a volume instance but that didn’t seem to make the change. Here is my docker run command if that helps:

docker run -it -p 5000:5000 --name monthly_report -v $PWD:/app -v mon_report_sqlite_cache:/data monthly_report

Isn’t datetime.now is just the current date and time? That is not auto updating just reading the system time and that should work in a container exactly as it works without it. The python process is still running on the same machine using the same time. The container is just like a wall between processes outside and inside the container.

Regarding the sql queries I don’t know what you mean by that. Can you show a step by step description with commands to reproduce the issue and see what you actually try to achieve?

I see what you mean. I’m just used to it auto-updating the datetime. Do you know how to do that?

Also getting a hint at my other problem now too. One of the pages in my web app is supposed to call to SQL and find previous reports. But if it wasn’t made before the container then it’s not repopulating. I’ll have to figure out a way to get it to update on command with a button instead.

It doesn’t look like it. :slight_smile: