Docker run error - command not found

I am a newbie to docker. I am trying to dockerize a running application based on java. I have tar the entire file system and imported this archive as a docker image. Then, i have created a docker image from the tarball using the command “cat ubuntu_1.tar.gz | docker import - ubuntucopy:new”. When i am trying to run the image using " Docker run -it imagename:tag" it gives me an error saying no command specified. When i try to run using " Docker run -it imagename:tag /bin/bash it gives me an error saying no such file or folder. Please help me out with your suggestions. Thanks

sorry, not quite sure of the words… th tarfile is NOT the docker image… it is some files…
docker IMAGE is created from docker build command

the From in the dockerfile starts the filesystem…

I tar an existing app, and untar it when the container starts… but ONLY the folders that are the app (/opt/xxx)
(it is on a volume connected at run time, so the docker image doesn’t have to hold the 1.5 GB gzipped app image)

in the dockerfile, you have either

cmd=
or
entrypoint=

to identify the SINGLE application (executable) to run to keep the container alive.

my Dockerfile has
ENTRYPOINT ["/opt/startup.sh"]

to launch the script which unbundles (zip or tar) the product file, and does some other setup before
launching the app… I also pass in from the docker run, some parameters to the container entrypoint command
to help the app decide which execution mode it is in.

I have an AMI with a running application in it. I have launched the AMI as an instance. It is based on RHEL 6.5. I have launched an other new ubuntu 14.04 instance and installed docker on it. I have stopped the application instance and detached the root volume and attached it to my new ubuntu 14.04 instance and mounted it to mount volume using the command [sudo mount /dev/xvda1 /mnt/] .