Docker Swarm Mesh Networking not working as expected on Ubuntu 22.04 Server

I should preface this that I’m really not an expert on Docker and Docker Swarm.

• Issue type
    Docker Swarm Mesh Networking not working as expected.

• OS Version/build
    Ubuntu 22.04.3 - Kernel 5.15.0-86-generic

• App version

• Steps to reproduce

1. 5 Docker hosts (3 managers, 2 workers) - Ubuntu 22.04 Server VMs running on the same subnet without anything inbetween that would block traffic on Swarm-relevant ports.
  2. Fresh up-to-date VMs (put relevant hosts in each nodes /etc/hosts), install Docker per the official documentation for Ubuntu, add non-root user in docker group.
  3. Make sure ufw is not blocking anything, then create Swarm per the official documentation. Join managers and workers.
  4. Then I create an attachable overlay network.
  5. Create an nginx service for testing mesh networking
    docker service create --name my-web --network testnet --publish published=8080,target=80 --replicas 2 nginx
  6. Try to curl <http://any node IP:8080>. Only works if I curl the specific node that a replica is running on. Curling other nodes results in connection timed out.

I’ve been bashing my head against this issue for two days now. It seems like mesh networking is not working properly. Am I wrong in thinking that I should see vxlan interfaces when I run ip a after creating an overlay network and attaching services to it? Because it is empty. I also checked with ipvsadm -L -n, but it is empty. I’ve made sure that IPVS, overlay, and vxlan kernel modules are loaded. Tried reinitializing the Swarm.