Dockerfile for Tomcat and a Java project

Hi,

I have some Java project (authentication server, really doesn’t matter). It’s running on Tomcat. I’ve created a Dockerfile which can help me with both dev environment and production. But because I’m really new to this, I would like some professional review and I’ll appreciate any help.

This is my Dockerfile:
https://github.com/sj621/auth-server-dockerfile

The whole idea is to run the image as

docker run -d -v $(pwd)/webapp/target:/opt/app {image_id} -name auth-server1

Then I’ll be able to build my java project and have changes right in my docker container. Everything works fine. But I need some review.

Thanks again in advance.

it’s usually a bad practice to have an sshd running. Try to just use docker exec if you need to access your containers for debugging. Mount volumes for normal access.

There is also another good practice to just run once process by container. You currently have the supervisord which starts multiple processes. This later will not scale and you cannot for example just fix one service (like the sshd) without touching another service (your tomcat for example).

Many people also try to explicitly specify the versions. So for example JAVA_MAJOR=8, JAVA_MINOR=123. That you can rebuild your image tomorrow and still use the same java version so you know it will work.

1 Like

Thanks a lot!

I’m sorry where did you find that supervisor manages multiple processes? My supervisor.conf has a record for catalina only.

who starts your sshd? supervisord is not needed. start the container with --restart=always if you want the service to be running every time.

sshd is not really needed. I added supervisor for the tomcat service. I will try with --restart=always option. Any drawback using supervisor? Because while I was looking in the Internet how to keep my tomcat running I came accross supervisor recommendations

supervisord just adds complexity. try to keep it as simple as possible.

1 Like