Dockerizing a Windows Service (.NET)

Hi Guys,

I am new to Docker, and I would like to know if it is possible to “Dockerize” a Windows Service created in .NET. I have not been able to find a good tutorial on this, or an article that would somehow show me the step by step process on how to do it. I have several windows services I created, and I would like them to be in Docker-Container. Is this possible? Thanks in advance, guys!

A newbie,
Eldon B. Tenorio
Philippines

1 Like

I don’t think you can run classic .NET type windows service on a docker. Unless the code is running on .NET core, can it be run on docker.

1 Like

Hi @rohits,

Thank you very much. Yes, I have heard of .NET Core, but I haven’t tried it yet. From your own experience, have you tried “converting” classic windows services so that it will be .NET Core-capable? Been wanting to have my windows services run in Docker-Container. Thank you very much in advance!

Windows containers are only available in insiders build.
So if your .NET service cannot run on Linux it’s not yet possible.
As soon as windows containers will be installed by default we’ll support it (by the end of the year).

Hi @ebriney, thanks for your inputs. Yes, basically .NET windows services cannot run on linux, since they aren’t built to run for that OS. I hope there will be a solution for .NET windows services for Dockers in the near future. Thanks for your reply.

Hi Guys! I was able to run dotnet core and created a sample application using Mac.

You may follow the steps as detailed in this site:
https://www.microsoft.com/net/core#macos

Hope this helps.

Thank you everyone for spending time on my question!

If you ever had problems installing OpenSSL on mac, here is the link to resolve this issue:

stackoverflow.com/questions/38670295/brew-refusing-to-link-openssl

Screenshot above shows that dotnet core was able to run a sample application wrtten in C#.

Thanks!