Extreme slowdown in performance

I am fairly new to Docker, so please let me know if I can post any other information that would be helpful.

The short of the problem is that when I run a simulation program in a container, it takes MUCH longer to execute than when just running on the bare host. Anywhere from 3-11 times slower.

The simulation
I containerized a simulation that uses Adevs (a C++ library for discrete event simulations) and a patched version of QEmu (with an image running some live software that interacts with the Adevs sim). The simulation is pretty basic: A “serial echo” device was modeled in adevs, which listens for some message from the emulator, and then sends a message back to the emulator upon receipt. The emulator is started from the simulation; when it boots, it runs a script that sends the message via a virtual serial connection.

The problem:
This simulation finishes in about 20 seconds when run on the host. Running in a container, based on ubuntu, the same simulation takes 65 seconds. I ran a cAdvisor container to look at the CPU usage. Running on the host, the CPU usage looks like this:

The simulation starts at 11:31:45 and ends 20 seconds later. When running the same simulation in a container:

[place holder: I will try to post this picture in another post]

Here the container was started around 11:53:45 and runs for the next 65 seconds. As you can see, the container is using a significant amount of CPU power, running on all 7 cores at full bore. During those first peaks is when the QEmu is booting; it finishes booting at about 11:54:15, and it sends the message to my adevs serial echo model. It settles down after it sends the message. The adevs model is set up to pause a few seconds before sending a message back; the three little peaks at the end correspond to three messages being sent from the adevs object to the emulator.

My question