Getting Docker container running with legacy PHP version

I am trying to get a legacy Concrete CMS site running in a container. I need PHP 5.6.40. Whenever I do a docker compose up --build and visit localhost it shows a PHP error related to using an incorrect version of PHP (error specific to the CMS).

I have never used Docker before, I figured this was a pretty simple starting place. This is a site I would normally have in a WAMPserver setup. How can I make it work here?

Here is my compose file:

version: '4'
services:
  www:
    image: php:apache
    volumes:
      - "./:/var/www/html"
    ports:
      - "80:80"
      - "443:443"
  legacy-php:
    depends_on:
      - mysql
    image: php:5.6.40-apache
    volumes:
      - .:/var/www/html
  mysql:
    image: mysql/mysql-server:5.7.37
    environment:
      - MYSQL_DATABASE=removed
      - MYSQL_USER=removed
      - MYSQL_PASSWORD=removed
      - MYSQL_ALLOW_EMPTY_PASSWORD=1
    volumes:
      - "./db:/docker-entrypoint-initdb.d"
  phpmyadmin:
    image: phpmyadmin/phpmyadmin
    ports:
      - "8001:80"
    environment:
      - PMA_HOST=db
      - PMA_PORT=3306

Can you share it? Since you use the right image tag for the legacy PHP if the CMS supports and requires that version, it should work.

Sure, this is what I am seeing:

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Undefined constant "Patchwork\Utf8\MB_OVERLOAD_STRING" in /var/www/html/concrete/vendor/patchwork/utf8/src/Patchwork/Utf8/Bootup.php:45 Stack trace: #0 /var/www/html/concrete/vendor/patchwork/utf8/src/Patchwork/Utf8/Bootup.php(26): Patchwork\Utf8\Bootup::initMbstring() #1 /var/www/html/concrete/bootstrap/start.php(19): Patchwork\Utf8\Bootup::initAll() #2 /var/www/html/concrete/dispatcher.php(31): require('/var/www/html/c...') #3 /var/www/html/index.php(3): require('/var/www/html/c...') #4 {main} thrown in /var/www/html/concrete/vendor/patchwork/utf8/src/Patchwork/Utf8/Bootup.php on line 45