Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Help needed setting up Samba (dperson)

I’m quite new to docker, I have at the moment Pi-Hole, Home Assistant and Portainer each in their own container on a NUC with Ubuntu. I use docker-compose to configure them, each has its own docker-compose.yml file in a separate directory.

I am now setting up dperson/samba using the sample docker-compose.yml at samba/docker-compose.yml at master · dperson/samba · GitHub.

I have created a “docker” directory i my home folder on the NUC, and want to expose it with Samba so I can easily work on it from my iMac.

So my docker-compose.yml file looks like this:

version: '3.4'

services:
  samba:
    container_name: samba
    image: dperson/samba:latest
    environment:
      TZ: 'Europe/Brussels'
    networks:
    ports:
      - "137:137/udp"
      - "138:138/udp"
      - "139:139/tcp"
      - "445:445/tcp"
    read_only: true
    tmpfs:
      - /tmp
    restart: unless-stopped
    stdin_open: true
    tty: true
    volumes:
      - $HOME/docker:$HOME/docker:z
    command: '-s "Docker;$HOME/docker;yes;no;no;jdoe;none;jdoe" -n -p'

networks:
  default:

When starting the container with docker-compose up, I get the following:

jdoe@NUC:~/docker/samba$ docker-compose up
Starting samba ... done
Attaching to samba
samba    | [2021/07/20 11:22:59.203675,  0] ../../lib/util/become_daemon.c:135(daemon_ready)
samba    |   daemon_ready: daemon 'nmbd' finished starting up and ready to serve connections
samba    | smbd version 4.12.2 started.
samba    | Copyright Andrew Tridgell and the Samba Team 1992-2020
samba    | daemon_ready: daemon 'smbd' finished starting up and ready to serve connections
samba    | [2021/07/20 11:23:22.248094,  0] ../../source3/nmbd/nmbd_become_lmb.c:397(become_local_master_stage2)
samba    |   *****
samba    |   
samba    |   Samba name server 4BAF70B93C2B is now a local master browser for workgroup MYGROUP on subnet 172.21.0.2
samba    |