Help with Docker for Jottacloud Synology

Hi!

I’m trying to follow the instructions here:
https://registry.hub.docker.com/r/jaco1960/jottacloud/
Because I want to setup my Jottacloud to backup my Synology NAS, but I’m struggling because I have no experience with this and I think I’m doing it wrong because nothing is happening.

On volume settings I have this:

With a folder in volume1 called Docker → JottaCloud → 1x folder: “config” & 1x folder: “backup”.

But then when the instruction says to add a volume:

-v /your/config/path/:/config \
-v /your/backup/path1/:/backup/path1 \

I’m not sure how I should do that part, and it’s also unclear what is meant by path1/:/backup why the “:” between path1 and backup and how will creating a line like that, backup my homes folder for example, if I were to swap it ti:
-v/volume1/docker/jottacloud/backup/homes/:/backup/homes\ when my homes folder is located under /volume1/homes?

It’s confusing to me so if someone could help me with this, that would be great! Then I can move from iDrive to Jottacloud.

Hi

I would say you did it correctly, according to the screenshot.

Regarding the “:” thing, the first “/your/config/path/” is where on your host/nas you want files to be stored. The “/config” is which folder it is mapped to, into the container.
So it would say its the same mappings you made in the gui (screenshot)

The way you explain it, it sounds like it would make a backup of my NAS files, on my NAS? I want it to go to the jottacloud. Or are those program files of the jottacloud docker app?

The container itself cant see your files, you need to map the folders you want/need into the container.
So my guess is that you need to change “/your/backup/path1/” to a folder you want to backup and map it to: /backup/path1 :slight_smile:

What does that mean exactly?
If I have a folder on Volume1/homes which I want to backup, do I need to move those files to the docker/jottacloud/backup folder