How connect external database with docker container service

Hi all,

i am new in docker, i face error when i tried to connect local database with container service.

please someone help me how to connect local database with docker container service

Use the IP address of the machine where the database is running (the real one, not localhost) as host address.

2 Likes

i just use IP address of the machine where database is running. used this jdbc connection URL jdbc:mysql://192.168.0.1:3306/testdb

docker run --name src
-p 8081:8081
-d test
-e MYSQL_PASSWORD=12345678
-e MYSQL_DATABASE=testdb
-e MYSQL_USER=root
-e MYSQL_HOST=192.168.0.1

Hello @habibsumon!

I too am rather new to Docker, however I have been a Database Engineer for over 13 years now and have administered and migrated just about every RDBMS type from one infra / arch / tech to another, to another, to current where I actively admin Multi-Region psuedo master-master (bi-directional master-slave) replicated MySQL Server stacks hosted on EC2 servers in the AWS Cloud.

I am also currently tasked with building our Dockerized / Containerized MySQL Server implementations integrated fully with our CI / CD pipeline workflows under IAC - so, I can share your frustration when first trying to learn this process and guide yourself along the way - and to that end I would like to offer you my assistance if I can do so…

That said - I do feel like I need a bit more context around the specific issue you are facing…

Firstly - what is the specific error message you get when you try to connect from your Host machine to MySQL Server running inside your Docker Guest?