How to connect to reverse proxy directly when it's running in network_mode: service:wireguard

Hi,

docker noob here. I have a server running in my home network with wireguard as a client and nginx as a reverse proxy in network_mode: service:wireguard. This server is connected to vps with wireguard server.

When I’m connected to wireguard server I can connect to reverse proxy without any issue.

But when I try to connect to reverse proxy directly from local network, not via wireguard, connection times out.

This is my home server docker-compose.yml

version: "3.5"
services:
  wireguard:
    image: lscr.io/linuxserver/wireguard:latest
    container_name: wireguard
    cap_add:
      - NET_ADMIN
      - SYS_MODULE
    environment:
    volumes:
      - ./config:/config
      - /lib/modules:/lib/modules 
    ports:
      - 51820:51820/udp
      - 80:80
    sysctls:
      - net.ipv4.conf.all.src_valid_mark=1
    restart: unless-stopped

reverse-proxy:
    image: nginx
    container_name: reverse-proxy
    network_mode: service:wireguard
    volumes:
      - ./nginx-config/default.conf:/etc/nginx/conf.d/default.conf

networks:
  default:
    external: true
    name: 'my-network'

My guess is that I have to create some iptables rule because when i scan host with nmap I get

PORT     STATE    SERVICE
22/tcp   open     ssh
80/tcp   filtered http

Also there is a rule in iptables already but it isn’t enough:

iptables -S | grep 80
-A DOCKER -d 172.18.0.4/32 ! -i br-<id> -o br-<id> -p tcp -m tcp --dport 80 -j ACCEPT

172.18.0.4 is an ip addres of wireguard container in my-network

Can anyone enlighten me on docker networking.

Your wireguard container is the owner of the network namespace, as such it is correct that the wireguard container is the one that has to published ports. The nginx container uses the network namespace of the wireguard container, and acts network-wise as it would be a process that is running in the wireguard container…