How to get Volume ID and Name in dockerfile

Hello,
I am new to docker and I have what I believe is a simple question. In the dockerfile I am creating a volume so that I can persist some information created in the container. My question is, does anyone know how to get the volume name and ID and write it to the persist.txt file? Can I do that in the dockerfile or is there a different way it should be done. Here is the code in the dockerfile:

Add Local Directory

RUN mkdir /persist

RUN echo “I’m a persistent thing!” > /persist/persist.txt

VOLUME /persist

Thanks in advance! - Neal

You don’t crete a volume in a Dockerfile. You just define where the mount point should be after the container starts and the volume can be created. Since there is no volume yet, you can’t get any ID or any info.

Why do you want to save the volume name in a file?

Here is my latets tutorial in which I write about volumes in general as well, so you can learn more about how volumes work.

An advice:

Don’t define a volume in a Dockerfile. Document it as a requirement so whoever creates a container from the image can mount a volume at a specific location in the container. There is no way to remove volumes defined in a Dockerfile in case someone don’t want to use it so they would end up with a bunch of anonymous volumes if they create a container from the same image multiple times and they won’t even know about that probably.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply! So our container has some logic and will crunch data in a database to create a file that will be ingested into another application/container. So we want this to persist. I need to find the best way to accomplish this.

Sorry, I’m still not sure about your goal. Maybe its just too late for me where I’M writing from, but why would writing to the database and saving a file require knowing the name of a volume which could be seen only from the outside?

1 Like