How would you differentiate between Docker vs EC2 image

I am a big fan of docker. I am still learning it and I like it so much already especially with the performance on Linux. I have a question and would like to hear other’s comments. Let’s say I have a micro service to deploy and it requires some dependencies and configuration. docker is a perfect solution for deployment. On the other hand, I think that using a EC2 image is good as well:

• launch a Linux image.
  • install all the dependencies.
  • configure it.
  • save a snapshot.
  • publish it in the Amazon Marketplace.

What do you think? Besides the coupling with EC2, what are other pros and cons?

Thank you.

1 Like

Using snapshots is one way that companies would prep their deployments prior to Docker. It works, but the process is not as efficient or cost effective.

• Speed: Launching a new Amazon instance is a lot slower than launching a Docker container (Time=$)
  • Cost: Extra AWS cost in storing your snapshots.
  • Maintainability: Using snapshots for this type of process takes too much time to maintain. Every time you need to make a change, your going to have to launch a new instance, make your changes, then create a new snapshot - When you create a new snapshot, you’ll need to update your deployment tools to use the new AMI ID. It’s not so bad when it’s only one or two, but dozens/hundreds…
  • Code creep: It’s hard to track the changes you’ve made to your snapshots. Especially if there is more than one admin making changes over several months/years.
2 Likes

Thank you, Jerry. Your answer is very useful.

I’ve been using Docker on EC2 for the past year now. I agree with most everything that Jerry said. The biggest problem I have with AMI snapshots is that you loose visibility of what’s actually in the AMI. Try doing a diff between versions 1.0 and 1.1. This is where the Dockerfile provides a lot of visibility into what your app is composed of.