Implement a container for each php code

Hi everyone,
first of all I’m totally new in working with Docker.

As you can see below I set up two docker containers, one for my Apache webserver and one for a MySQL database. By using the webserver I can call my php codes which I store in the src-folder. Now my question is if it is possible to create two containers for two different php-functions. For example: With one Container I can call my php-code “give_me_measure_data_from_device_A.php” and with the other container “give_me_measure_data_from_device_B.php”. Is this possible to use for each function an own container?

This is my docker-compose.yml:

version: '3.1'

services:
  php:
    build:
      context: .
      dockerfile: Dockerfile
    ports:
      - 80:80
    volumes:
      - ./src:/var/www/html/

db:
    image: mysql
    command: --default-authentication-plugin=mysql_native_password
    restart: always
    ports: 
      - 3306:3306
    environment:
      MYSQL_ROOT_PASSWORD: example
    volumes:
      - mysql-data:/var/lib/mysql

volumes:
  mysql-data:

This is my Dockerfile:

FROM php:7.4-apache
RUN docker-php-ext-install mysqli

Thank you very much!

Sure, but they could not both use port 80.

Using yet another container to run a “reverse proxy” such as Nginx that would use port 80, would allow you to direct traffic for some URL to one container, and for another URL to another. The forwarding would then only use “internal” ports, and inter-container networking, without making the PHP containers expose any ports to the host directly. If that makes any sense depends on your use case; you may want to tell a bit more about your actual use case.

(It seems to me that give_me_measure_data is the task for a single container, that would use URL query parameters like ?device=a, or REST URL paths like /devices/a/measurements and /devices/b/measurements, to determine which device is asked for. That by itself is unrelated to using Docker or not.)

1 Like