Inconsistent login problems using MySQL with Docker using docker-compose

First off, I want to say thank you for your time and for your willingness to help.
Secondly, I am a complete noob to Docker, only having started working with it today.

I wanted to learn how to setup Docker as the ability to have independent containers set up, 1 to each website I was to work on without depending on WAMPServer 3, was attractive. I started by following this tutorial, which seemed pretty straightforward:

I installed Docker and installed the WSL for Windows 10 with the WSL Ubuntu 20.04 and the Linux Kernel Update for WSL.

I was able to get the tutorial, as shown, to work, but wanted to customize it to be as close as possible to my Client’s webhosting provider’s server:

Apache/2.4.46
nginx/1.20.0
PHP 7.4.27 (to be upgraded to PHP 8.0 soon)
MariaDB 10.3.30 → MySQL 15.1

I am not sure how to address using Apache 2.4.46 as yet within the docker-compose.yml

I also want to use a docker-compose yaml file so as not to have to use a command line:

My docker-compose.yml is as follows:

version: '3.9'
services:
    web:
        image: nginx:1.20.0
        ports:
            - "80:80"
        volumes:
            - ./nginx.conf:/etc/nginx/conf.d/nginx.conf
            - ./app:/app
    php:
        build:
            context: .
            dockerfile: PHP.Dockerfile
        volumes:
            - ./app:/app
    mysql:
        image: mariadb:10.3.30
        environment:
            MYSQL_ROOT_PASSWORD: 'secret'
            MYSQL_USER: 'schauer'
            MYSQL_PASSWORD: 'schauer'
            MYSQL_DATABASE: 'schauer'
        volumes:
#            - mysqldata:/var/lib/mysql
            - ./mysqldata:/mysqldata
        ports:
            - 3306:3306
    phpmyadmin:
        depends_on:
            - mysql
        image: phpmyadmin/phpmyadmin
        links:
            - mysql
        ports:
            - "8000:80"
        environment:
            PMA_HOST: mysql
        restart: always