Missing r/w permissions inside container to control GPIO pins

Hi,

I’m running this little project on my Raspberry Pi to control some GPIO pins of the Raspi. I’ve been doing so for years and recently, I started playing around with the new rootless .NET Docker images.

Unfortunately, I’m struggling with the permissions inside the Docker container - I simply have no write access to /dev/gpiomem.

Here’s what I tried:

1. Create new user app_raspi with UID 64200 on the host: sudo adduser --uid 64200 --disabled-password --no-create-home app_raspi
  2. Add the newly created user app_raspi to the gpio group: sudo usermod -a -G gpio app_raspi

However, when starting my container with the newly created user, the underlying library of my project still cannot access the GPIO pins. So I checked the following things on the host:

myUser@myRaspi:~ $ grep gpio /etc/group
gpio:x:997:myUser,app_raspi

myUser@myRaspi:~ $ grep app_raspi /etc/passwd
app_raspi:x:64200:64200:,,,:/home/app_raspi:/bin/bash

myUser@myRaspi:~ $ sudo -u \#64200 test -r /dev/gpiomem; echo "$?"

myUser@myRaspi:~ $ sudo -u \#64200 test -w /dev/gpiomem; echo "$?"

myUser@myRaspi:~ $ ls -lh /dev/gpiomem
crw-rw---- 1 root gpio 245, 0 Jan  6 12:00 /dev/gpiomem

So I started the container with bash as entrypoint:
docker run -it --rm --user=64200 -v /dev/gpiomem:/dev/gpiomem --entrypoint /bin/bash mu88/raspifancontroller:latest
Here’s some output as well:

I have no name!@9218798747ed:/app$ whoami
whoami: cannot find name for user ID 64200

I have no name!@9218798747ed:/app$ id
uid=64200 gid=0(root) groups=0(root)

I have no name!@9218798747ed:/app$ test -r /dev/gpiomem; echo "$?"

I have no name!@9218798747ed:/app$ test -w /dev/gpiomem; echo "$?"

I have no name!@9218798747ed:/app$ test -r RaspiFanController.dll; echo "$?"

I have no name!@9218798747ed:/app$ test -x RaspiFanController.dll; echo "$?"

I have no name!@9218798747ed:/app$ ls -lh /dev/gpiomem
crw-rw---- 1 root 997 245, 0 Jan  6 11:00 /dev/gpiomem