New to Docker, how to deal with duplicate ports best?

Hello
im new to docker so please forgive what might be a silly question.
Ive read thru a number of articles and posts here but i think ive got a disconnect on how to best deal with applications that use the same posts within a container.
For example multiple containers that want to use simple https 443. Typically these would be separated by path or other means.
When i try to run them i get errors saying port is already in use.
Any pointers would be appreciated.

Hello and welcome,

you are right - by default only one container can provide services on a specific port to the outside world (= to other computers within your network).
EITHER container nginx_1 OR nginx_2 can provide its port 443 as port 443 to the outside world.

So you have some options to deal with this “issue”:

1. let container nginx_1 provide it service on computer’s port 443 and nginx_2 on computer’s port 444.
  2. you can use a reverse proxy serving on computer’s port 443 and forwarding hte requests to container nginx_1 or nginx_2 depending on the path, the hostname, whatever…

For a beginner I would choose option 1). For docker-compose.yml you can modify the first port-number to specify the port to be used on the outside world:

[...]
services:
  kb4_nginx:
    image: nginx:latest
    ports:
      - '8083:80'
[...]

will allow me to use computer’s port 8083 to connect to container’s port 80.
I you use plain docker-commands you can do the same with -p <outside-port>:<container-port>.

For option 2) I would choose traefik (of course there are other options available) which itself can be run as a docker-container and forward the requests on the computer’s port :443 to the backend containers (nginx_1 and nginx_2 in this example). If you need more information about this way feel free to ask and I can provide some sample-configuration on how to configure traefik for https and what to add to the backend-containers to be used by the traefik-container.