Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Newbie to coding and docker, my issue is probably obvious

I’m new to Docker and literally only a few hours into learning containers. I have a new job where I’m tasked to document the applications even though I have no experience with application development or coding. I’m trying to learn Docker containers etc so that I can help write the documents for developers.

I found my first project that would be perfect to learn after I ran through the docker tutorial successfully. I found a blog that is well written on how to create a lamp stack where Apache, PHP and MySQL run in separate containers in a persistent state. https://www.thearmchaircritic.org/tech-journals/creating-a-lamp-stack-using-docker-compose

I’m getting an error when starting the docker compose for each of the services as follows:
Unsupported config option for services: ‘mysql’
Unsupported config option for services: ‘php’
Unsupported config option for services: ‘mysql’
I have no idea what is causing the error and would appreciate the help

guess I can’t attach a file, hopefully after pasting my docker-compose.yml content, I will have to edit in order for indents to properly be displayed here.
services:
apache:
build: ‘./apache’
restart: always
ports:
- 80:80
- 443:443
networks:
- frontend
- backend
volumes:
- ./public_html:/usr/local/apache2/htdocs
- ./cert/:/usr/local/apache2/cert/
depends_on:
- php
- mysql
php:
build: ‘./php’
networks:
- backend
volumes:
- ./public_html:/usr/local/apache2/htdocs
- ./tmp:/usr/local/tmp
mysql:
build: ‘./mysql’
networks:
- backend
volumes:
- ./database:/var/lib/mysql

SORRY, the above content for docker-compose.yml is properly indented in the editor but the indents actually disappear in the forum. That said, I don’t believe its an indexing issue

Below is the content of the dockerfile
FROM httpd:2.4.35-alpine
RUN apk update;
apk upgrade;
COPY ./apache.conf /usr/local/apache2/conf/httpd.conf
EXPOSE 80