Noob question: How is security assured with docker (wrt the source of the apps and OS)

Hi,

First, I apologize but didn’t see a help-specific sub-section in this forum, so I post this question in the general discussion forum. Let me know if I should have posted somewhere else.

This being said, I have limited experience with *nix systems, and even more limited experience with Docker. I’ve basically tried to install 6 different docker images on my Synology NAS and only managed to get 2 working (learning A LOT along the way).

Here is my very basic question regarding security: My understanding is that a docker image is similar to a VM in that it is a fresh OS install (often ubuntu, but can be any OS) on top of which we install various applications, often to accomplish one “simple” task.

That image is created from a docker file, which is a “recipe” on how to build the image. For example, the recipe could look something like:

• Download and install Ubuntu version X with options x, y, z
  • Download and install uTorrent version X

I then create a container (a running version of the image) from that image.

My concern is as follow: Most noob like myself (and probably many intermediate users) will first start by looking for existing images from the docker registry instead of writing a docker file from scratch. Chances are, many other people wanted the same thing. However, what would prevent someone from taking a fresh Ubuntu image, adding a few keyloggers and backdoors, and then publish a docker file such as`

• Download my custom Ubuntu with backdoor
  • Download uTorrent

Since I only get to access uTorrent from the webUI, I don’t even have the ability so SEE what is installed on the Ubuntu (and even if I did, it could easily be hidden).

My understanding is that the key to the security lies within the docker file itself, and I need to carefully review each line to make sure that the SOURCE of each downloaded application is indeed from a “reputable”/official sources.