Novice: cannot locate my files using volume

I am struggling with finding the .txt file which should be created by my Python program. I use the following commands:

sudo docker build -t newdocker1 .
sudo docker volume create volume1
sudo docker run -v volume1:/home/ilze/PycharmProjects/pythonProject newdocker1

The volume is created, the path “/home…/pythonProject” leads to actual directory where my dockerfile and .py file along with venv lives. Everything executes without throwing an error, on-screen outputs are fine, but I cannot locate the created file. What am I doing wrong? I am new to dockers and Linux system as well.
When I execute the main .py before putting into the docker, .txt file is located next to main.py.

My dockerfile is simple:

FROM ubuntu
RUN apt-get update
RUN apt-get -y install python
COPY . .
ENTRYPOINT [“python”,“main.py”]

What do you need the volume for?

Below, you’re copying everything from the current folder (which I assume is /home/ilze/PycharmProjects/pythonProject) into the image. And all that will be available in the root of your container’s file system:

You could copy it into a specific folder using, e.g.,

WORKDIR /app
COPY . .

Regardless, with the above, the files from your current folder are already copied when creating the image. You don’t need any volume to access those files when running the image in a container.

Next, whatever file is created or changed in the container by your app is available to your app, but is ephemeral and will be gone when you delete the container. So, maybe you want a volume to store/persist data as created by your app? This data (the .txt file the app created) will then be available until you remove the volume. But then the name/location within the container should probably be unrelated to /home/ilze/PycharmProjects/pythonProject. It would make more sense to use, e.g., -v volume1:/data to make the volume available as /data to the app in your container.