Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Possible to run containers at boot? And a networking question

I’m in an all-Mac environment and I want to start using Docker (finally also with a swarm with Docker processes on multiple Macs). I’m a newbie and I’ve been reading documentation and I’m left with a few questions for which I haven’t found answers yet. I’d be obliged if someone can answer them for me.

1. I want containers to run at launch of the machine and not just when a user is logged in. From the documentation this looks to be incompatible with the Docker for Mac app, where all the documentation talks about ~/Library, etc. and everything seems to be about only running stuff when you’re logged in and have started the Docker for Mac app. Does this mean I will have to run Docker using the brew install? Or is it possible to have a Docker for Mac install and still use Docker containers without anyone being logged in?
  2. I want containers to be active on a local subnet. I’ve read that you cannot connect to containers from the macOS host Docker is running on. Is this final, or is it just a matter of the right routing table command and such? What is needed for containers on a Mac to be first class citizens on my local LAN?

Nobody? I’ve installed Docker through homebrew and have found out that apparently code signing stops launchd from starting a docker-machine at boot. It would be really nice if I could run a docker machine at boot and also start some containers at boot.

If you want your containers running all the time after a reboot then I would look at docker-compose this appears to work fine with a mac, not that I have any experience with macs.