Problem with docker-compose file configuring Nextcloud & MariaDB images

Hi,

I’m a newbie using Docker Compose 1.17.1 (within a Plesk-administered VPS running Ubuntu 18.04), and I have been trying to get a container going with a Nextcloud image (15.0.4 for now) and a MariaDB image (10.4.2 for now) configured according to the following yaml file:

> version: '3' 
> 
> services:
> 
>   db:
>     image: mariadb:latest
>     container_name: nextcloud-mariadb
>     networks:
>       - nextcloud_network
>     volumes:
>       - /opt/mariadb/data:/var/lib/mysql
>       - /opt/mariadb/log:/var/log/mysql
>       - /opt/mariadb/config:/etc/mysql/conf.d
>       - /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro
>     environment:
>       - MYSQL_ROOT_PASSWORD=secret
>       - MYSQL_USER=mariadb_user
>       - MYSQL_PASSWORD=secret
>       - MYSQL_DATABASE=nextcloud
>     restart: unless-stopped
>   
>   app:
>     image: nextcloud:latest
>     container_name: nextcloud
>     networks:
>       - nextcloud_network
>     depends_on:
>       - db
>     volumes:
>       - /opt/nextcloud/www:/var/www/html
>       - /opt/nextcloud/data:/var/www/html/data/
>       - /opt/nextcloud/config:/var/www/html/config/
>       - /opt/nextcloud/apps:/var/www/html/apps/
>       - /opt/nextcloud/custom_apps:/var/www/html/custom_apps/
>       - /opt/nextcloud/themes:/var/www/html/themes/
>       - /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro
>     environment:
>       - MYSQL_HOST=db
>     restart: unless-stopped
> 
> volumes:
>   nextcloud:
>   db:
> 
> networks:
>   nextcloud_network:

Each local image seems to work fine when I try a docker run command on them separately, but when I try a docker-compose up -d command using the above yaml file, the MariaDB server does not want to initialize properly. The log shows this problem:

> [ERROR] mysqld: File '/var/log/mysql/mariadb-bin.index' not found (Errcode: 13 "Permission denied")